Call Us Today! (859) 307-7883

Proudly serving Independence, KY and the surrounding area since 1991

Our Reviews

Overall Verified Testimonial Score

4.55

Composite Score

Quality

Customer Service

Value

Review Date: 04/01/2021 | Author: Susan M.

Comments: He was a very knowledgeable, polite and did a good detailed job.

Review Date: 02/28/2021 | Author: Jennifer D.

Comments: Doug is very prompt on returning calls and scheduling visits to give quotes. Doug was able to look at our fireplace and tell us how to convert from gas to wood burning. He did the job same day. I ¢ m so happy to have my wood burning fireplace ready to go! Thank you Doug!!! Excellent job!!!

Review Date: 12/30/2020 | Author: Landes R.

Comments: Doug responded to my call quickly and was very thorough. When he left I was confident that the chimney and fireplace in the home I recently purchased was good to go!

Review Date: 12/03/2020 | Author: Ned J.

Comments: Doug did a fantastic job restoring our chimney cap. He displayed great integrity and character and we recommend him and his services. He is old school mentality, meaning he uses the restore vs. replace strategy, if possible. He saved us quite a bit of money and our chimney never looked so good!

Review Date: 08/29/2020 | Author: Dawn C.

Comments: Very knowledgeable. Took his time to explain how it all works. I feel safe using my fireplace now.

Review Date: 08/23/2020 | Author: Kathy B.

Comments: Very nice did a great job took care of the problem the same day

Review Date: 08/15/2020 | Author: Tony F.

Comments: Good work

Review Date: 06/29/2020 | Author: Rob M.

Comments: He charges by the job and not the hour. He s conscientious about his work but he s quite the talker 😁.

Review Date: 04/07/2020 | Author: Stephen W.

Comments: Doug was prompt, explained everything he found and how he was going to remedy my problem. I had a debris blocked water heater vent in the chimney.

Review Date: 04/07/2020 | Author: Don N.

Comments: Showed up on the date he said and did and excellent job. There was no mess when he was finish.

Review Date: 11/12/2019 | Author: Neil I.

Review Date: 10/05/2019 | Author: Mary W.

Comments: Club Dwyer came the day I called him, looked at problem, came back early the next day and did an excellent job. In fact, he saved me a lot of money by installing a better exhaust line that was recommended by another company. I would hire him again.

Review Date: 01/31/2019 | Author: Benjamin S.

Review Date: 10/18/2018 | Author: Eric A.

Comments: Doug Dwyer saved me $5,000, straight out. Another company had recommended full metal sheath through whole chimney, quoting $6,000. Doug advised not necessary. He did much better job cleaning, installed new type of advanced chimney-top damper that looks very promising as easy way to close off chimney, did other repair, for $1,000. I'd recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone.

Review Date: 09/10/2018 | Author: Manny Q.

Comments: Prompt and knowledgeable.

Review Date: 08/05/2018 | Author: Dennis R.

Comments: DOUG WAS VERY PROMPT IN FACT HE CAME THE DAY I CALLED HIM. HE GAVE ME SOME SOUND ADVICE. HE ALSO WENT BEYOND WHAT I EXPECTED. I WAS VERY WELL PLEASED WITH HIS SERVICE. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND HIS SERVICE.

Review Date: 07/14/2018 | Author: Gwendolyn G.

Comments: Mr.Dwyer was very professional cleaning gutters, he cleaned up after work was done and enjoy talking with him.

Review Date: 07/06/2018 | Author: Howard L.

Comments: Very professional.

Review Date: 06/24/2018 | Author: Dwen C.

Comments: The company is very professional and knowledgeable. They do great work at a reasonable price.

Review Date: 05/21/2018 | Author: Ajay M.

Comments: Doug is a great guy. Understands the problem and explains the issue/solution quite well to a layperson. Does good quality work. Hired him to fix a leak from the chimney.

Review Date: 02/02/2018 | Author: Chris G.

Comments: This was a pellet stove cleaning and repair. 20yr old pellet stove, not working. The cleaning that Mr. Dwyer does is incredibly comprehensive - front, back, sides, motors, exhaust, et. al. He figured out every issue until the stove was running again. Would give him 10stars if I could.

Review Date: 01/25/2018 | Author: Pat S.

Comments: He knew what he was doing, explained to is in detail the problem and fixed it. We will call on him again.

Review Date: 10/23/2017 | Author: Jackie D.

Comments: Mr. Dwyer was very friendly and helpful.

Review Date: 07/17/2017 | Author: Michelle M.

Comments: Came out to do a gutter inspection and cleaning if needed. Very knowledgeable and shared information I found to be helpful in the future. Honest and didn't try to sell an unneeded service.

Review Date: 06/28/2017 | Author: Barbara H.

Comments: Mr. Dwyer is an excellent example for other professionals because he is friendly, knowledgeable, professional, honest and he resolved all the issues we were having with our chimney for a reasonable price. He diagnosed the problem and solved it quickly.

Review Date: 05/20/2017 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: I thought a little pricey! Doug arrived the same day I called him and diagnosed the problem immediately and corrected the problem immediately without hesitation!!!

Review Date: 05/15/2017 | Author: Connie L.

Comments: Very prompt and professional.

Review Date: 04/12/2017 | Author: Jeff G.

Comments: Very thorough

Review Date: 03/19/2017 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Doug arrived the same day I called him and he diagnosed the problem with my gas fireplace within minutes. He was very professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. He ordered the part I needed and when he received it he returned promptly and had the fireplace working within minutes. The price for his service was very good. He answered all my questions satisfactorily. I would not hesitate to call Dwyer Chimney Service again if I had any issue with my gas fireplace. I also hired Doug a few years ago to clean my chimney in my wood burning fireplace in my previous house. It was the best cleaning that chimney ever got! If I still had a wood burning fireplace I would call only Doug to care for it!

Review Date: 03/04/2017 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Quick and excellent service.

Review Date: 02/27/2017 | Author: Ed B.

Comments: Mr. Dwyer was punctual, knowledgeable and friendly, and confirmed that our gas fireplace was in good, usable condition.

Review Date: 02/17/2017 | Author: Brandon H.

Comments: Unbelivably quick service. Excellent

Review Date: 02/16/2017 | Author: Robin H.

Comments: He inspected my fireplace and found it didn't need cleaning

Review Date: 01/31/2017 | Author: Jim C.

Comments: Assessed job, explained what was needed, ordered part and fixed it

Review Date: 01/20/2017 | Author: Jim G.

Comments: I was quoted a price for cleaning my chimney and a price for installing a chimney cap. After looking down chimney and taking a picture on his phone he determined a cleaning was not necessary. When I was going to pay for the chimney cap he told me there was an additional $100.00 due on top of the chimney cap installation. He told me that was for his inspection and additional time (maybe10-15 min.) What bothered me was another company gave me a price for the chimney cap installation of $20.00 plus cost of cap $140.00. Doug is very good at what he does just make sure you know the total cost for the work before he starts.

Review Date: 01/18/2017 | Author: Tom R.

Review Date: 12/25/2016 | Author: Richard D.

Comments: Very prompt, thorough and knowledgeable service. Explained all the operating options for our fireplaces and provided a great value. I'd only recommend avoiding wearing a hat with a political slogan while conducting business.

Review Date: 11/14/2016 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Great job.

Review Date: 08/24/2016 | Author: Mary l F.

Comments: Pleased with the work and reasonable cost.

Review Date: 08/16/2016 | Author: Steve A.

Comments: Doug Dwyer was very careful handling 30-0 ladder around house and was very attentive to detail and also offered free advice on my chimney

Review Date: 08/11/2016 | Author: David C.

Comments: Doug did a very nice job on a difficult stone and mortar repair and may well have discovered how water was getting into the basement. But some days he just didn't show up which drove us crazy. Suggest setting a schedule with him.

Review Date: 07/29/2016 | Author: Roger H.

Comments: Doug arrived on schedule , performed the job very well, and the final price was the original estimate. Very hard worker, and I certainly plan to use his services in the future.

Review Date: 07/29/2016 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Doug did a nice job laying a stone top for our stone wall. It required some creativity and he delivered. The overall project cost did increase by $300 and we found out on pay day. I would recommend proactively communicating any budget changes in the future to ensure everyone is aligned.

Review Date: 06/25/2016 | Author: Ari F.

Comments: Doug Dwyer is very easy to work with.

Review Date: 06/07/2016 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: When I called he said the price would be $125. Charged $150.

Review Date: 05/28/2016 | Author: Carl G.

Comments: outstanding job. Personable, reg guy. Hardworking.

Review Date: 05/25/2016 | Author: Christie A.

Comments: Dywer is dependable and reasonable. He fixed a leak,in a gutter that no other company could resolve in years. He is very friendly and pleasure to meet. I,would highly recommend him to my family and friends

Review Date: 05/23/2016 | Author: Jesse K.

Comments: They did the job right at a great price.

Review Date: 05/15/2016 | Author: Dawn D.

Comments: Doug is very nice and professional. He was on time and did a very thorough job. We'd definitely hire him again.

Review Date: 05/14/2016 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Doug was nice, prompt (did the work the day I called). Recognized a few branches that needed trimmed by gutters so he cut a few back for me at no extra charge.

Review Date: 03/11/2016 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: He did a great job. Will work with again on other projects.

Review Date: 03/08/2016 | Author: Suzanne H.

Comments: Mr. Dwyer did a great job of cleaning our wood-burning fireplace/chimney! I really appreciated the time that he took explaining the things that he was looking for and what he was doing. He educated me on the structure of the fireplace/chimney, the types of build-up that can develop, and the prepping and storing our firewood. We had the cleaning done as we are selling our house, and Mr. Dwyer even gave me suggestions for the care and maintenance of the fireplaces in our new home. It's obvious that he genuinely cares about the quality of his work, and his rates are reasonable! Highly recommend!

Review Date: 01/27/2016 | Author: Clif C.

Comments: John was very personable and educating. His effort was very appreciated.

Review Date: 01/26/2016 | Author: Stacy R.

Comments: He did a good job and was very friendly

Review Date: 01/25/2016 | Author: Annette D.

Comments: very honest

Review Date: 12/11/2015 | Author: Janice M.

Comments: He did a good job of cleaning the vent and answered all of our questions. He even educated us on how to prevent lint buildup in the future.

Review Date: 11/29/2015 | Author: Jim G.

Comments: no work was performed

Review Date: 11/16/2015 | Author: Brenda T.

Comments: Did a good job not only cleaning but also trimmed a tree touching the roof and removed an antennae wire from the chimney.

Review Date: 11/05/2015 | Author: Robert P.

Comments: My 1st review was not to good, but he did call me back and came back out promptly and repaired my stove. He did a great job of making it right.

Review Date: 11/02/2015 | Author: Ron M.

Comments: I thought I was going to need some chimney repair. Doug cleaned and said it was in great condition and no need for repair. Good honest guy! I will recommend Dwyer Chimney Service to everyone!

Review Date: 10/27/2015 | Author: Darryl B.

Comments: Doug is the owner and workman. He was very caring and knowledgeable, reviewing my needs and giving tips and suggestions on what else he saw that would benefit the chimney. He took the time to explain clearly what he saw and his ideas. He performed the work in a timely and professional manner.

Review Date: 10/19/2015 | Author: Christy D.

Comments: Chimney did not need to be cleaned, but we were given information on the firewood to make sure our chimney does not need to be cleaned very often. The information was priceless and helped locate the right person to buy our firewood from. We love the new damper that was installed as well.

Review Date: 10/18/2015 | Author: Cindy B.

Comments: Arrived promptly, efficient, cleaned inside, inspected chimney in and out. Owner run business -Doug came to do the work himself -in fact a friend already called and hired him. Works on word of mouth and HomeAdvisor mostly.

Review Date: 10/15/2015 | Author: Alexander M.

Comments: This gentlemen was very personable and did a good job. He was knowledgeable about his work. I would recommend him.

Review Date: 09/14/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Did a great job, however, seems a little unorganized with appointments.

Review Date: 09/12/2015 | Author: Ann B.

Comments: Excellent!

Review Date: 09/06/2015 | Author: John R.

Comments: The man was very honest. Said my leak was from gutters not chimney and even cleared them for me. Advised me how I can do a little maintenance to prevent it from happening again. Can't give all 5 stars because he didn't need to actually service the chimney or fireplace.

Review Date: 08/29/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr. Dwyer was informative and knowledgeable, he did an excellent job and was very timely in getting to us and finishing it.

Review Date: 08/21/2015 | Author: Lisa Y.

Comments: very thoughtful. very experienced.

Review Date: 08/10/2015 | Author: Alex E.

Comments: fast, efficient and made helpful recommendations.

Review Date: 07/24/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Work was done very well. My neighbors were very impressed with the price. I will call them again in the future.

Review Date: 07/14/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Excellent job for a great price.

Review Date: 07/02/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Did an excellent job.

Review Date: 06/25/2015 | Author: Brittney H.

Comments: I was extremely happy with Doug and his son James. They were friendly and professional and offered great home maintenance advice. I would recommend them for sure!

Review Date: 06/13/2015 | Author: Jim D.

Comments: great job @ a great price.

Review Date: 05/12/2015 | Author: Julie S.

Comments: Doug did a great job, was very thorough, and is a personable man. I will hire him to clean the gutters next year.

Review Date: 05/04/2015 | Author: Dennis S.

Comments: did excellent job.

Review Date: 04/26/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very honest and helpful. Came out quickly and took care of everything.

Review Date: 04/06/2015 | Author: Alice H.

Comments: A very caring and professional company. Showed much concern about the health of my family. Took his time doing the job. I'm a very satisfied customer. Thank you for your company advice.

Review Date: 02/16/2015 | Author: Bob M.

Comments: very helpful and knowledgeable

Review Date: 02/12/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very knowledgeable. Did a good job and price matched. Did not show up on time and did not call.

Review Date: 12/14/2014 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very quick response, was honest, did a good job at a fair price

Review Date: 12/11/2014 | Author: Mariana H.

Comments: Quick to respond and did a great job.

Review Date: 10/27/2014 | Author: Doug B.

Comments: Very knowledgeable professional that was punctual and knew what he was doing.

Review Date: 10/15/2014 | Author: Nancy V.

Comments: Rain for over a week delayed the start but Doug did exactly as he said he would do! Explained everything before proceeding. Most happy. Would call him again!

Review Date: 10/15/2014 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: He was very nice and informative. He was very honest and thorough

Review Date: 09/09/2014 | Author: Ronit G.

Comments: Doug did an excellent job repairing a crumbling chimney. I also hired him to complete other repairs inside. He does great work and is very honest. I would definitely hire him again.

Review Date: 08/01/2014 | Author: Charles H.

Comments: Contractor inspected brick work on existing structure . Needed repairs were performed in a expert manner . I am very Satisfied .

Review Date: 07/22/2014 | Author: Joseph S.

Comments: Mr. Dwyer was very knowledgable in what needed to be accomplished and recommended additional preventive maintenance items that were not initially apparent to me. Completing these tasks at the same time as the requested repairs saved money and should prevent or delay potential mortar repairs that certainly would have been needed in the future.

Review Date: 07/09/2014 | Author: Darcy D.

Comments: Professional, timely and courteous. Explained the process as well as listened to my explanation of the work I wanted completed. I felt he was knowledgeable about the issue and the resolution for it.

Review Date: 02/13/2014 | Author: Sharon B.

Comments: He was very knowledgeable & we felt very genuine & explained everything in detail.

Review Date: 02/07/2014 | Author: Barbara B.

Comments: I felt that he knew what he was doing very honest and appreciate his work

Review Date: 02/06/2014 | Author: Mr & mrs. C.

Comments: He was efficient and he did a good job. Very knowledgable and explained everything quite nicely

Review Date: 12/10/2013 | Author: Robert B.

Comments: He was able to come the day I called. He explained what kind of wood to burn and at what temp to keep flue clean great service.

Review Date: 11/27/2013 | Author: Keith W.

Comments: Had my fireplace working same day. Thank you

Review Date: 10/10/2013 | Author: Jane S.

Comments: Quick response and great job cleaning the chimney. Answered all questions. Very knowledgable about the ins and outs of chimneys.

Review Date: 08/25/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Fixed big issue in dryer vent system! Works perfectly now!!

Review Date: 08/17/2013 | Author: Doris W.

Comments: He was able to come the following day.

Review Date: 07/01/2013 | Author: Pat W.

Comments: Doug was very professional and knowledgable. Was very careful when cleaning the chimney that all the soot was contained. Would highly recommend. Thank you!

Review Date: 06/18/2013 | Author: Robert M.

Comments: He was fast and efficient!

Review Date: 06/09/2013 | Author: Harry L.

Comments: Outstanding. Very professional and helpful

Review Date: 05/22/2013 | Author: Virginia Y.

Comments: The work was good but I didn't know it would take 2 weeks to complete.

Review Date: 04/25/2013 | Author: Kim C.

Comments: He is very knowledgable and congenial

Review Date: 03/20/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: great service!!

Review Date: 03/05/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: On time and explained everything thoroughly.

Review Date: 02/07/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr. Dwyer came the next day. Very knowledgeable and nice man.

Review Date: 01/31/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Provided great service and advice

Review Date: 01/02/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Very knowledgeable. Quick to schedule. Great price.

Review Date: 12/26/2012 | Author: Sandy W.

Comments: Mr Dwyer was very professional and polite. I have already recommended him to others.

Review Date: 12/12/2012 | Author: Bruce W.

Comments: They were good. I'd use them again.

Review Date: 11/26/2012 | Author: Joseph E.

Comments: Honest, Prompt, clean and efficient!!!

Review Date: 11/23/2012 | Author: Dennis H.

Comments: Doug was very knowledgeable and his experience showed in how he approached the problem and anallyzed the correction. If I have other concerns about my ventless fireplace I will not hesitate to contact Mr. Dwyer and ask for his assistance.

Review Date: 11/12/2012 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: They were very helpful and friendly.

Review Date: 09/28/2012 | Author: Jeanne P.

Comments: Very knowledgable

Review Date: 09/27/2012 | Author: Rikki R.

Comments: Very nice man. He talks a lot but explained a lot to us that we didn't know. Our fireplace setup was not setup correctly from the previous owners. He setup correctly and explained how to use the automatic natural wood lighter.

Review Date: 09/19/2012 | Author: Constance L.

Comments: Mr. Dwyer is a highly professional expert. He repaired out gas fireplace efficiently and promptly. He didn't charge an arm and a leg for his services; his price was fair and exactly what he quoted on the phone when I first called him. A business with integrity. I highly recommend Dwyer Chimney Service!

Review Date: 09/13/2012 | Author: Marc G.

Comments: Mr. Dwyer was quick to respond, informative and provided a quality job for a reasonable price, I will use his services annually.

Review Date: 09/08/2012 | Author: Linda N.

Comments: GREAT JOB! GREAT PERSON! THANK YOU!

Review Date: 08/13/2012 | Author: Xiaoning L.

Comments: He did pretty good job.

Review Date: 08/07/2012 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Mr. Dwyer was very prompt and helpful with a last minute emergency in our gas fireplace.

Review Date: 08/01/2012 | Author: Lois R.

Comments: responded to call promptly, worked efficiently and studiously until job was completed; competent team.

Review Date: 07/30/2012 | Author: Mark B.

Comments: Dwyer Chimney Service was fairly priced and had appointments available quickly to service my needs. They made suggestions and answered my concerns and I would use them again for my fireplace and chimney services.

Review Date: 07/19/2012 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Doug was very helpful and knowledgable. He came out the same week I inquired about his services. I would definitely recommend him!

Review Date: 07/17/2012 | Author: Tom S.

Comments: Doug did a great job. We walked through the basement to check on the chimney and see which flu was connected to the fireplace and which was connected to the heater/water heater. He took a look from street level, and took several close up pics. As the work progressed, Doug kept me informed as to what was being done and what issues came up. He cleaned up each day, and when the work was complete, he cleaned up the yard.

Review Date: 07/08/2012 | Author: Aurora W.

Comments: Prompt response to my request, very knowledgeable, courteous, explains the problems and the solutions clearly, excellent customer service, arrives prepared to do the whole job and adapts perfectly to the unexpected, provides good value. Highly recommend!

Review Date: 06/25/2012 | Author: Polina V.

Comments: good job

Review Date: 06/20/2012 | Author: John R.

Comments: Was at my house within 24 hours of placing the call. Very knowledgeable. Takes the time to explain everything that he is doing. Prices were better than I would have expected. Will use him again for any of my chimney / fireplace needs.